“Observing Observing (a white cup): Amy Huddleston”

With each exhibition, we will post interviews with the participating artists along with a photo of said artists in their studios and images of their work. In the future, we will post videos of artist interviews.

“Observing Observing (a white cup)” opens September 12th and continues through October 31, 2015

Curated by Eric Elliott, Michael Howard & Norman Lundin. More than twenty artists (both gallery artists and not) accepted the invitation to submit work.

Reception for the artists, Sept. 12, 2 – 4 pm

Artist Interview #12: Amy Huddleston

Amy Huddlest

1. How did you respond to the idea of the white cup?

The same way I approach all my work; I ask myself, what do I want this work to evoke, and what approach do I use to do it?

2. Are you a full time artist, if not how do you support your art?

Yes.

3. When did you consider yourself an artist?

Other people started calling me an artist around 12 or 13 years old, I bought it.

4. What are your influences?

Currently, light, form, paint itself; and the idea that it can evoke a multitude of things.

5. How big is your studio, what kind of lighting?

My studio is about 250 sq ft. The space has lots of natural light via 3 large picture windows and two skylights.

6. What is a typical day in the studio like for you? Do you listen to music, radio or tv in your studio?

Typically, I organize or clean up a bit, then start work on what I have going on at the time. I have music in the background.

7. What is your preferred medium? Do you work on one project at a time or several?

Casein is currently the medium I am using/prefer, but I also use oil and acrylic. I have always gone back and forth between projects.

8. Do you have any special or unique tools, devices or process that you use in your art making?

Not really.

9. What do you do outside the studio, aside from a job?

I spend time with my family and friends doing the typical things people do.

"Night Cup", 2015, oil on linen, 14 x 20.5"

“Night Cup”, 2015, oil on linen, 14 x 20.5″

Leave a Reply

