“Canopies: Tamblyn Gawley”

With each exhibition, we will post interviews with the participating artists along with a photo of said artists in their studios and images of their work. In the future, we will post videos of artist interviews.

“Canopies” opens June 27th and continues through August 22, 2015

The exhibitions includes the work of Kimberly Clark, Eric Elliott, Tamblyn Gawley & Evelyn Woods.

Reception for the artists, June 27th, 2 – 4 pm

Artist Interview #8: Tamblyn Gawley

IMG_1073

1. Are you a full time artist, if not how do you support your art?

I am bouncing around a lot right now, but I do rely on other sources of income. Last year, I was fortunate enough to spend the year in New Zealand on a Fulbright Grant, hiking and making art.

2. When did you consider yourself an artist?

I’ve been practicing art for as long as I can remember, learning from my mom and taking lessons. Throughout high school, undergrad, and grad school, I always referred to myself as an art student or a painter. More recently, I’ve started to adopt the “artist” title, since I’m working in multiple media and “painter” isn’t very accurate anymore.

3. What are your influences?

I take inspiration from many places. Most of my source material comes from photographing tree roots and branches while hiking and camping. I’ve been thinking a lot about the self-reflective elements of modern literature, and finding ways to incorporate similar ideas in visual art. I look to a range of painters; my current favorites are Cezanne, John Singer Sargent, Sylvia Plimack Mangold, Tom Thomson and the Group of Seven, Whistler, and Jim Dine.

4. How big is your studio, what kind of lighting?

Tamblyn's studio in Christchurch, New Zealand in 2014.

Tamblyn’s studio in Christchurch, New Zealand in 2014.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a studio right now, so I work out of my apartment. In the past, I’ve had a range of studios, the best of which had excellent natural northern light (southern light in New Zealand!).

5. What is a typical day in the studio like for you? Do you listen to music, radio or tv in your studio?

A studio day includes working on unfinished drawings or paintings, prepping plates for the printing press, running prints, working through my images and ideas for new pieces, and prepping new surfaces. When working, I usually listen to music, with a lot of Neil Young and CCR.

6. What is your preferred medium? Do you work on one project at a time or several?

For years, I worked almost exclusively in oil paint. More recently, I have been working in graphite, gouache, and lithography. I tend to have one piece that is the primary focus, but I also prep new ideas and revisit older works that I’m not satisfied with. I often work in series, so the whole series will usually be in progress as one work.

7. Do you have any special or unique tools, devices or process that you use in your art making?

In New Zealand, I was introduced to Pronto paper, a polyester lithographic plate. It’s been a wonderful medium that allows me to mix drawing and painting. The plates are quicker to work with than the traditional stone. They wear out after a series of prints, but, trained as a painter, I enjoy the limit to the number of prints I can create.

8. What do you do outside the studio, aside from a job?

I love spending time in the outdoors and exploring new areas. Whenever possible, I go hiking, backpacking, and car-camping. On these trips, I photograph the numerous branch and root formations that catch my eye, and then revisit the images in the studio at a later date. I use the images and my memories of the time and place to create my work.

Leave a Reply

